Lekei's Thoughts
Sunday, 11. August 2002
MRP Reflection Page

MRP Reflection Page

Content:
Over the course of this summer I have learned how to use the internet as a tool to find information, communicate ideas with others, learn from others, and learn about myself. This has been a short, but get-your-moneys-worth summer. First we needed to become familiar with working over the Internet. I don’t think a lot of us had that much experience doing work like this. When I read back over my journal they seem so amateur, I was so afraid to do anything, I know that I needed to be careful when putting information up on the web, but I have learned that there is a system to the way things work on the web. It is no longer unfamiliar territory, we used databases to find articles that we were to think about and offer a sincere question related in some way to the article that had just read. Sometimes it took longer than others to come up with a question I felt was appropriate, because I may have never considered the topic before. I have had to become more familiar with terminology used in this field and some related fields in order to uderstand the information I received. Also, using a mode through which I could communicate with others that I had never heard of before was through the Moo. The Moo was so fun, it thrilled me to know that some classmates and an instructor were located in other places, but we were able to link together at a given time and talk about this class. This experience encouraged me to use the online help chat services when I had trouble with my computer. Something else that was apart of this class' assignments was the test called the Vark, it allows students to become aware of which study methods would work best for them. My online journal has allowed me to document my trek throughout this course, I like the fact that others can comment on what I have to said whether I agree or not; it is nice to read others reactions to your work. This class has given me tools that I know I will be using again, really soon, I have kept all of the assignment sheets to help me with any sticky spot I might encounter over the web in the future.

Process:
By learning how to manipulate the WWW I have been able to find tons of information I needed for my MRP. Learning techniques within the context in which they have been used allowed me to invision how these skills can be employed towards activities of personal and academic interest to me.
For my MRP first I had to decide what my essential question would be. I had to make sure that it was not a one-answer question. My foundation questions were the things that were to support my essential question. I had to revise my essential and foundation questions one time each, initially, because they were to broad. As I narrowed my topic down, the concern of being able to find enough information was lurking in my mind. I had to figure out which genre, besides the ones specified, I would use to express my idea/opinion about my topic intercultural communication & SLPs. I did not have a difficult time figuring out what I was going to use or even how it would fit together, it just came together like the pieces of a puzzle. But once I began working and trying to shape my project somethings did not fit so smoothly,realizing that learning the skills I needed to complete my MRP stemmed from learning how to find information I needed. As some of my fellow classmates and I were figuring out element of MRP a couple of us decided that music would add to the presentation of our work. Well this was the beginning to a long search for me. In my quest to be creative, I wanted slides cascading across the screen as the Malian gentlemen sang his song. I mean I went to bed thinking, about drumbeats and rhythm that would set the pace of my PowerPoint. And what better photos could convey my message..... only National Geographic Photos. So I went to the public library and got some old NG magazines from the early to the late 80’s, I picked up a CD with music from different regions of Africa on it, boy I had it made--yeah right. So now this copyright issue comes up, I thought there must be a way around it. So I look through literature concerning this issue, yes I found it I thought---FAIR USE! But then there was a problem with my only glimmer of hope, fair use did not apply over the Internet. So this prompted me to get permission from the artist or company. …surely this will be as simple as a piece of cake. I called NG and they said that any photo 75 years old or older were deemed public domain…. but the 1980’s photos I wanted to use were just pups in respect to what I had just been told. So I asked how much would it cost for me to use them she replied, “$300.00 per image”…my mouth drop to the floor. So those were out of the picture (why not take advantage of a pun). Oh and my drumbeats in the night stopped, once I contacted PBS's legal department and learned that I would have to get several releases to use the song, in addition to the fact that my request would not be high on the record companies list of priorities. Well I have really only talked about one genre, but I think it serves the purpose. I was able to find out how th contact this people by using the Internet. I also used the internet to find several sources for my project and now I am communicating my ideas over the internet.

Premise:
I have accepted this assignment as an opportunity to find out what areas are available involving my ideas of interesting things within this field. I also believed that this allowed me to discuss topics that are not common and that may not have even been considered previously. I have learned from my research the culture does influence the way we behave, speak and interact with others over the course of my research. I think I am beginning to understand why some things that people do seem so strange to me. I have learned that if you want to know something the information is available, you just have to be willing to go after it.

Home

References

Online for 7995 days
Last modified: 7/11/02, 12:12 AM
Status
Youre not logged in ... Login
Menu
... Home
... Tags

Search
Calendar
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
August
Recent updates
Personal History Lekei’s Personal History
I want to become a Speech Pathologist, because I believe...
by lekei (9/7/02, 2:59 AM)
Icate's Name Poem Icate’s Name
Poem Icate It means Unique, Intelligent, and Understanding, It symbolizes...
by lekei (8/23/02, 6:56 PM)
Narration : Story Setup Narration:
Story Setup You are about to meet Icate Bloomington; she...
by lekei (8/23/02, 6:53 PM)
MRP Reflection Page MRP
Reflection Page Content: Over the course of this summer I have...
by lekei (8/16/02, 10:58 PM)
10th Summer Journal 10th Summer
Journal Dear Lekei, you have climbed high heights this summer...
by lekei (8/16/02, 3:16 PM)
Preface Preface My MRP
essential question is, “ How are the skills of Speech-Language Pathologists...
by lekei (8/16/02, 2:31 PM)
Table of Contents: Hello welcome
to my weblog, below is a list of items that...
by lekei (8/16/02, 2:24 PM)
Revised Essential and Foundation Question(s)
My Revised Essential Question: How are the skills of Speech-Language...
by lekei (8/16/02, 2:19 PM)
About the Author About the
Author I am Lekei Tolliver a 25-years-old Communication Disorders student...
by lekei (8/16/02, 12:17 PM)
Kei Kei's Webliography My Welcome
to You Hello, welcome to my webliography! I am Lekei...
by lekei (8/16/02, 12:14 PM)
Acknowledgements Acknowledgements
This project has been a delight and at times painful, but I am...
by lekei (8/16/02, 12:10 PM)
1st Summer Journal 1st Summer
Journal Well, I am finally wrapping up just about all...
by lekei (8/16/02, 12:03 PM)
My Poem Lekei It
means POWER, STRENGTH and KINDNESS, It is 99+2, It is like...
by lekei (8/16/02, 11:57 AM)
Icate's BioWeb Icate's BioWeb
Come in...make yourself at home; I am Icate Bloomington and this...
by lekei (8/16/02, 11:29 AM)
Reference Page for MRP Reference
Page for MRP (I used these sources) Beck, R. M....
by lekei (8/15/02, 9:01 AM)
Possible Library Sources for MRP
Assignment Possible Library Sources for MRP Here are some articles...
by lekei (8/13/02, 3:25 AM)
9th Summer Journal 9th Summer
Journal Boy! I have butterflies in my stomach; I have...
by lekei (8/12/02, 6:22 AM)

RSS feed

Made with Antville
Helma Object Publisher